Render Distance

General Talk about ClownerCraft
Forum rules
1. No swearing, or inappropriate language. Please keep things family friendly.
2. No offensive posts
3. Be respectful of other people's opinions.
4. Keep posts on-topic. No discussion of other servers.
Post Reply
User avatar
groudzero
Posts: 11
Joined: September 8th, 2017, 6:09 am
Location: Saint Louis

Render Distance

Post by groudzero » May 24th, 2019, 12:13 pm

I run a fairly good computer. Have a very nice graph-x card and a boat load of memory. It can run about 99% of games out there.

With that being said, my viewable distance seams very VERY short while on the server. Is it the server settings or am i missing something?

I'm using the basic 1.14.1 update if that helps.

Just want to know....
"Why, I'd horse-whip you if I had a horse." - Groucho Marx :D

TheClowner
Site Admin
Posts: 570
Joined: August 30th, 2012, 4:35 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Render Distance

Post by TheClowner » May 24th, 2019, 8:25 pm

If you switch back to 1.13.2 and play on that does it still appear as the small distance, or is this specific to 1.14? Just want to check this isn't related to the protocol support...

It's likely just the server's settings as it was knocked down as a lag prevention method - will look at it again once we fully update to 1.14.1. Although this still shouldn't be that short. How far is 'very VERY short'? You should see at least 4-6 chunks in each direction (64 to 96 blocks)...

User avatar
groudzero
Posts: 11
Joined: September 8th, 2017, 6:09 am
Location: Saint Louis

Re: Render Distance

Post by groudzero » May 24th, 2019, 10:04 pm

I would say 4 chunks maximum. Really noticed it when working on a racetrack build and lost site of the other end, less than 100-blocks away. Going from 30 chunks to 4 is very short in my book.

I did switch back to the Optifine setting which is 1.13.2 and it's ok, so I'm assuming it's the 1.14 settings. I've added a picture.

Optifine on the left and 1.14.1 on the right.
Attachments
13Left_14Right.jpg
13Left_14Right.jpg (238.2 KiB) Viewed 309 times
"Why, I'd horse-whip you if I had a horse." - Groucho Marx :D

TheClowner
Site Admin
Posts: 570
Joined: August 30th, 2012, 4:35 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Render Distance

Post by TheClowner » May 25th, 2019, 6:21 pm

It appears that's a bug in 1.14.1 then - I had a look on the mojang bug tracker and I think this is roughly the same problem, but with realms: https://bugs.mojang.com/projects/MC/iss ... openissues It likely just extends to servers in general.

User avatar
groudzero
Posts: 11
Joined: September 8th, 2017, 6:09 am
Location: Saint Louis

Re: Render Distance

Post by groudzero » May 25th, 2019, 7:54 pm

I appreciate you taking your time and looking into it. This is why I love this server.
"Why, I'd horse-whip you if I had a horse." - Groucho Marx :D

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests